Institute of Community Psychology Aotearoa (IComPA)


The Institute of Community Psychology promotes the application of psychology and related knowledge to enhancing social and cultural justice within Aotearoa.


These aims form a broad statement of intent for members of IComPA:

  • To promote developments within the profession and discipline of psychology that will enhance the status of Maori as tangata whenua
  • To promote developments within the profession that will enhance the ability of ethnic and cultural communities to become self-determining in a manner consistent with Te Tiriti o Waitangi
  • To promote the use of psychology and social science in the pursuit of social justice for individuals, groups and communities
  • To promote high standards of competency and safe practice among practitioners of community psychology through (a) advising on training in community psychology (b) continuing education, workforce development and networking
  • To promote knowledge of the discipline of community psychology
  • To undertake activities consistent with the values and principles of community psychology.

Values and Principles

Values are inextricably enmeshed in all forms of human behaviour, including psychological research and practice. Values help frame the way we see the world and play an important role in determining our priorities. In this sense, values help set our agendas. Community psychologists believe it is important to make explicit the values guiding their practice.

Core values and principles which have been identified in community psychology are: social justice, empowerment and competence enhancement, diversity and cultural pluralism, cultural awareness and biculturalism, social innovation and social change, evaluation, community development and participation, collaboration and partnership, an ecological approach, systems perspective and a preventive approach to social problems. These values are consistent with those of the Code of Ethics for Psychologists Working in Aotearoa New Zealand (2002).

The IComPA committee  2023/24

Rebekah Graham (Chair)
Nell Fisher
Hayley Lord
Heather Hamerton
Sherida Davy

How to join

click here for the online application

It is free for NZPsS members and students to join the Institute.


Contact the membership administrator on membership(at) for more information.