New Zealand Psychological Society 50th Jubilee **From independence to professional registration: A timeline of activities**

1968 Barney Sampson - President

NZPsS Council make submissions to the Minister of Health about legislation for psychologists' registration.

1969

Cyril John Adcock meets with the Department of Health who are willing to sponsor a Bill for registration.

1970 Hugh Priest - President

AGM votes for registration to be pursued "with utmost vigour" and for restricting the use of psychological tests by unqualified people.

NZ Medical Association attempts to prevent psychologists from providing psychotherapy without a doctor's referral; is not opposed to psychologist registration but thinks that clinical and educational psychologists could be registered as medical auxiliaries.

1971 Alan Crowther - President



Photo: Otago University



Department of Health advises Registration Bill unlikely to go to parliament before 1974.

1973 Clement Hill - President

President suggests appointing a 'permanent officer' in Wellington in anticipation of growth in business consequent on registration. Draft registration Bill received and Council discusses the Society becoming a registration authority.

1974 Peter McKellar - President

University of Otago Agreement to establish a permanent secretariat in Wellington. Registration continues to be pursued and discussions continue on how registration should look.

1975

Cyril Adcock appointed Executive Secretary and the secretariat was operating from RSNZ premises "smoothly and within budget".

1976 Jim Ritchie - President

A number of members delay paying their subs 'because of slow progress on registration'. Prime Minister Rob Muldoon confirms preference for the Department of Health handling registration. Some Society members preferred the Minister of Science/DSIR.

1977 Mike Malloy - President

Council investigates certification of professional psychologists as an alternative to registration. New Zealand Psychological Society 50th Jubilee **From independence to professional registration: A timeline of activities**



Wellington secretariat abandoned, and its responsibilities transferred to the Christchurch Branch.

Becomes clear the Minister of Science not willing to sponsor the registration Bill.

Council establish a National Committee on Professional Psychology for the purpose of accrediting professional training programmes but little progress made.

The registration committee supported sponsorship of the Bill by the Health Department and proposed that 'registered psychologist' be legally distinguished from 'psychologist'.

1979 Ann Ballin - First Woman President

Department of Health suggests that it should take over the functions of a registration board. This is not well-received by Council.

Photo: University of Canterbury

> Photo: Massey

University

Council recommends that a woman be appointed to the registration sub-committee.

Marilyn Waring, MP signals her interest in the Registration Bill's progress.

Meetings with George Gair, Minister of Health and much work on preparation of the Bill for introduction occurring.

1980 John Small - President

Registration Bill given its first reading in Parliament 12 December 1980

1981 Andrew Hornblow - President

Branches and Divisions have input on the Society's submission on the Bill. Concerns that academic teachers' research not included as part of the scope of psychology.

1982 George Shouksmith - President

Registration Bill comes into force in January 1981 - not gazetted until 20 October, 1983.

1983 Ross St George - President

Registration of the psychology profession comes into force.